Asunder of Soul and Spirit

Early one morning, through my devotion time, our Heavenly Father gave me a Word, and it was a serious aha moment for me.  Of course, His Voice is powerful and always just awesome that He allows me to hear It.  Hearing His Voice tends to fall into three categories; a rebuke, a specific area of direction as His child and servant, or a question . . . This morning was different, very different.  He showed me and spoke to me what has been taking place in me, and why.  There was a bit of a rebuke that came along with a question, but He made it very clear, He had seen my repentance in that regard.

When He healed my mind, all those years ago, I hadn’t “put all the pieces” together in my understanding.  I had full awareness and sometimes that was overwhelming, but He always protected me and the hedge of His protection included my entire mind / soul.  He protected my emotions, but what He’s been doing in me is separating my spirit from my emotions.  My spirit belongs to Him and is not governed by my emotions, nor is it protected by my own devices!  Please allow me to elaborate.

Many of us do not know the difference between our soul and spirit, or our emotions and a move of His Spirit.  I’ve learned in these last several years, being healed and whole mentally doesn’t always “feel good” in the way life goes.  I’ve also learned through some very painful interactions, love is not an emotion, it’s a fruit of the spirit, and sometimes folks just don’t return the love they receive . . .  They simply don’t seem to have the capability, and that can be quite painful if the interaction is frequent.  Spiritual acceptance of that which we cannot change, does two things.  It truly does leave the problem in the hands of our Creator, and it stops the emotional pain.   When our emotions are ruled by our spirit, our perspective changes; and when our spirit is ruled by The Holy Spirit, our life changes.

In my last marriage, at first I was just devastated when I learned that some of my husband’s family prefer that he come alone to family gatherings.  When he brought it up to his mother in front of me, she didn’t deny it, she simply said, “so and so” had repeated too much . . . So, I sat there taking it in . . . then very soon, celebrating the fact!

Last month, I was privileged to follow my daughter’s and grandchildren’s visit to this area from the Southwest.  Facebook does have it’s value . . . What was amazingly interesting, is my daughter called me less than 48 hours after returning home to “discuss” her visit . . . and how her grandmother, my mother was so worried about what to tell me, as the plans were made to exclude me.  To this day, we’ve not discussed it at all.  As I downloaded one of the family photos from my nephew’s page, I considered the reality.  First, I wasn’t stalking his page, we are FB friends.  As I looked at the photo, I realized, I really would have been out of place to be included.  In that photo was 4 generations, and although I was absent, my daughter really is the spittin’ image of my sister, so the photo looked complete.

I’ve tried to make myself feel sad about the realization, but I simply cannot.  It is what it is, and that’s really the resolution of the matter.  My emotions are truly not ruled by the decision of others.  My responsibility is to walk in the fruit of the Spirit, and if I’m not invited, there is even less responsibility!

Rejection can actually be freedom!

For the word of Elohim is quick, and powerful, and sharper than any twoedged sword, piercing even to the dividing asunder of soul and spirit, and of the joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart.  Let us therefore come boldly unto the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy, and find grace to help in time of need.   Hebrews 4:12, 16

book

Standard

Leave a Reply

